Beth Stalker: Athlete of the Month

What is your age, occupation, background, hobbies, and other sports?

I am 64 years young. I am a retired Chemical Engineer who worked various positions at SABIC/GE/Polaroid for 34 years. I am married to Mike and we have 2 adult children. We both are blessed to be able to compete and train for triathlons and running races/ I love to swim, bike and run, especially with others. I have been a member of Willow Street Athletic Club for over 20 years.  We also hike, cross country and telemark ski. We do like to travel now that we are both retired. I am fortunate to volunteer for a few different organizations. 

When and why did you start running?

I started running when a friend and I were in Boston running to get the T near Boston College. t was only a mile and it was very hard for me. My friend said I should be able to do this…and that started it.

What’s your favorite race to date, and why?

Oh, this is a very hard question. I am grateful for all the race directors and volunteers who create these events that challenge us. I guess my favorite is the Teal Ribbon Run Ovarian Cancer 5K because I run, grieve and pray for those who we’ve lost (my sister Gwen and friend Carol) and those who struggle with this horrible disease.



Beth Stalker










Ed. Note: Beth usually is the top person in age graded performances for both male and female runners,

What is your approach to training? Do you follow a particular training plan, or do you work with a coach and if so, who?

I follow a triathlon training plan with Helle Frederiksen/ Kollektiv.

What is your weekly mileage in peak racing/marathon training season? What is your approach to the off season

I generally run 25-30 miles a week maximum as I usually train swimming and biking for aerobic fitness as well.

During the season I usually do one running interval workout a week. I don’t do that in the offseason and XC or downhill skiing to replace other workouts.

During our cold winter days, do you brave poor weather conditions or stick indoors on the treadmill? I try to run outside. I will go on the treadmill if the roads are icy or if it is really too cold or wet.

                       Beth Stalker, Lori Kingsley, Alyssa Risko, Colleen Brackett

List your PRs: Race, time, year:

All time:
Freihofer's Run for Women 5K 18:33 when I was 37 (1996)
Stockadeathon 15k 59:34 in 2000

Over 60 PR’s:
Stockadeathon 15k 1:06:10 2021
Troy Turkey Trot 10K 42:42 2021

What is your favorite distance?

I think the 10K is my favorite distance…..for running races. The olympic distance is my favorite triathlon: 1500M swim, 40K bike and 10K run. Just perfect to train for and to do ~ 1 a month in the summer.

Your favorite shoe for training and racing

Racing: Asics Meta Speed Sky
Training: Saucony Kinvara

Ever run in a costume?


What are your favorite pre-race and post-race meals?

Pre-race the night before is chicken, vegetables and a glass of wine. Pre-race day of - protein powder, applesauce, and an electrolyte drink.

Post-race is a recovery drink with carbs,electrolyte and protein as soon as possible. Generally there’s no gluten free food at a race but we always find a good meal, within a few hours…love Mexican.

What challenges / races / adventures are you planning for the coming year?

We have our local Olympic distance triathlon lined up so far for next year (Ticonderoga, Delta Lake and Lake George) and God willing will continue to run with Willow Athletic club in 2024.

What is the greatest piece of advice you've ever received in the sport?

Run with gratitude and joy. It is a blessing to be able to get to the start line.

Loading Conversation

Partner Clubs

Partner clubs offer group runs and local races to the Capital Region running community

Create Account

Log In Your Account