Miseno-Bowles and Knobloch Win 2018 Bill Robinson Masters 10K

by Jim Tierney

With ideal running weather, the 38th Annual Bill Robinson Masters 10K took off from Guilderland High School on Saturday, April 28th, 2018 promptly at 9 a.m.

This out and back 10K is part of the Grand Prix Series for HMRRC. This year there were 63 participants and last year there were 91.

Kimberly Miseno-Bowles was this year's female winner with Aaron Knobloch, the male winner. Miseno-Bowles crossed the finish line in 46:10. Followed by the second place female finisher, Sue Thompson, with a time of 46:22. Colleen Ottalagano was the third place woman with a time of 46:48.

Female age group winners were Laura Kelly, Christine Varley, Deborah Fox, Karen Dott, Martha DiGrazia, Susan Wong, Eiko Bogue. A special note of accomplishment goes to 80 year old, Eiko Bogue, for competing and completing another of her many road races.

Knoblach led the entire race and finished in 37:22  with a commanding lead over second place finisher, Andy Reed in 38:39. In third place for the men, was 58 year old John Noonan, with a very respectable time of 39:43.

Male age group winners were Erik Koenitzer, John Sestito, David Roy, Tom McGuire, Ron Stewart, Ed Bown.

Just prior to the awards ceremony, I relayed a message sent to all runners from Bill Robinson wishing them well and saying he would love to be at the race but it is extremely difficult for him to be there. I do know for certain that Bill wishes he could be at the race. Also, he extends his thanks to all the volunteers.

In addition, I extended an invitation to Pat Glover to be a special guest to handle the awards ceremony. Unfortunately, Pat had an important family commitment which was to travel to New Jersey with his sister to support his nephew in his first Marathon, which, by the way, went well.

A huge thank you goes out to all the volunteers from the race director, Jim Tierney: Marcia and Tom Adams, Katherine Ambrosio, Jackie Bown, Frank Broderick, Tom Bulger, Maureen Cox, Rich Eckhardt, Tina Haydn, Bob Knouse, Charlie Matlock, Joan and Lowell Montgomery, Ed Neiles, Sue and Scott Patterson, Tom Ryan, Cathy Sliwinski.

In closing, we all say thank you to the officers and staff and EMT of the Guilderland Police Department for their cooperation, support and guidance in allowing us to put on another safe and successful road race. Also, a sincere thank you to the Guilderland High School staff for their continued assistance and ongoing support for this event.

This has been my 20th year directing this race.


Loading Conversation

Partner Clubs

Partner clubs offer group runs and local races to the Capital Region running community

Create Account

Log In Your Account